ESTA permitted nationalities

Which nationalities qualify to apply for an ESTA?

Only travellers that possess a valid passport from a country that is part of the Visa Waiver Program can acquire an ESTA. This includes most countries in Europe. Check below for the entire list of nationalities that fall under the ESTA program.

Travellers with multiple nationalities

It often occurs that travellers going to the US have dual nationalities. This does not need to pose a problem. However, it is necessary that at least one of the nationalities is listed on the list of permitted nationalities below. The traveller also has to fill in the ESTA form with the passport information of the passport in this list of nationalities. Finally, this passport needs to be travelled with, meaning that the passport number filled in on the ESTA form must match the passport number of the passport you will use to travel to the USA.

Nationality and passport required

Not all inhabitants of the countries below qualify for an ESTA. An ESTA application can only be submitted if they also hold the nationality and a valid passport from one of the countries listed below. Travellers that only have an identification card (ID card), green card, residence permit, or are asylum seekers, cannot apply for an ESTA.


  • Brunei
  • Japan
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • South Korea


  • Andorra
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Austria
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Spain
  • Czech Republic
  • United Kingdom
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland


  • Australia
  • New Zealand

South America

  • Chile